recipe! sweet potato pie smoothie

For years I’ve declared my utter dislike of sweet potatoes.  I thought I hated the taste and consistency.  As it happens, I love both.  I just wasn’t making them correctly!

A few weeks ago I chopped up some sweet potatoes, coated them in olive oil, chili powder, salt, and pepper, and baked them at 425 for about 40 minutes.  I used them in fried rice for a few days before deciding to experiment with another usage.

A smoothie.  A delicious, creamy smoothie.

First of all, let me clarify: I do not recommend putting olive oil, chili powder, salt, and pepper on something you intend to use in a pie-flavored smoothie.  This was just the way I happened to have my sweet potatoes on hand the first time I tried this smoothie.  I covered up the taste with a bit of brown sugar. You could also use maple syrup.  How yummy would that be?  Or, if you’re thinking ahead like I wasn’t and make plain sweet potatoes, you can skip the sugar.

Anyway, the second time I made it, I did plan ahead and baked the sweet potatoes with a little bit of olive oil.  Perfect, and I didn’t need sugar in the smoothie at all.

Sweet Potato Pie Smoothie

1 cup almond milk (regular milk or soymilk are just as good)
1/2 cup sweet potatoes, diced and baked
1/2 tsp each of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger
2 tbsp uncooked oats
half of a frozen banana
3-4 ice cubes

Place all ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth and creamy.

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to get a picture of this smoothie.  It’s pale orange in color, with dots of bright orange sweet potato fibers.  There are also flecks of tan oatmeal and nutty brown sweet potato skins.  (You could peel the sweet potatoes if it suits you better.)

The taste of the smoothie is rich but also very earthy.  The sweet potato is (obviously) sweet, and the banana adds another layer of natural sugar.  I love putting oatmeal in my smoothies because it adds some viscosity, nuttiness, and it makes me feel full for longer.  Really, though, it’s the spices that make this smoothie.  They definitely carry health benefits.  And they taste. so. good.  Never ever skip the spices in this smoothie!  Or in anything!

This smoothie makes a great pre- or post-workout drink to replenish your energy.  Not something to drink everyday if you’re just trying to lose weight — it is high in carbs.  🙂

What’s your favorite smoothie recipe?

Leave a Reply

