book review! twelve unlikely heroes

I love people.

I love reading about people, too.  My favorite nonfiction books as a child were always, always biographies.  Now I find that biographies are more than just interesting.  What better way to learn about life than to read about how people live?  That’s why I chose to read Twelve Unlikely Heroes by John MacArthur.

The premise: John MacArthur describes and discusses the lives of twelve Bible heroes whose lives at some point seem to be heading in a direction that is anything but heroic.  The heroes are Enoch, Joseph, Miriam, Gideon and Samson (addressed in the same chapter as a kind of juxtaposition), Jonathan, Jonah, Esther, John the Baptist, James, and Mark and Onesimus (addressed in the same chapter because of common themes).

My perspective: The balance of informational text and personal application/discussion is great.  Pastor MacArthur is clearly knowledgeable about Bible history and does a great job selecting the most relevant and interesting facts to discuss.  I really loved everything about the book except for one thing: the writing style.  For some reason, I found it very difficult to get through.  I can’t explain it, since, as I said, the balance of the text was great and the material was totally engaging.  I would leave this issue to personal preference.

My recommendation: Something I really appreciate about this book is that it could be read both by a seasoned Christian and by someone relatively new to the faith.  The text never assumed that the reader had a lot of background knowledge, but it also was willing to dig deep into factors most people have never heard of.  My only drawback with this book was the writing style, and that’s completely a personal opinion.  It’s a great read that is both amazingly educational and inspirational.

Twelve Unlikely Heroes, available from Christian Book Distributors.

My favorite chapter was on Joseph — probably because he’s my favorite Bible hero!

Who’s your favorite Bible hero?

Leave a Reply

