recipe! roasted hemp seeds > doritos?

Well, this probably isn’t the greatest introduction to food photography.

...and the reward for Most Visually Unappealing Snack goes to...
…and the reward for Most Visually Unappealing Snack goes to…

These are organic roasted hemp seeds.  I just bought a 6oz bag at Grocery Outlet for a couple dollars the other day, having heard about the great health benefits.  A serving of 3 tablespoons contains 9g of protein and 14g of fat (12 of which are unsaturated).  Pretty good deal!

If you (like me until recently) have never seen or eaten hemp seeds before, let me enlighten you.  The texture is crunchy, similar maybe to puffed rice — just a bit heartier.  I would describe the flavor as earthy, nutty…fairly nondescript.  They taste a tiny bit like string, if you must know.  Don’t let that put you off.

Anyway, I tried them and liked them, but I never would have imagined that the addition of a few spices would inspire me to compare them to Doritos.  I.  Love.  Doritos.

Spiced Roasted Hemp Seeds

6oz roasted hemp seeds

1 tbsp chili powder

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp paprika (CRUCIAL)

Sprinkle the spices right over the hemp seeds and give them a shake before enjoying.  Easy!

If I were to make any adjustments to this recipe, I might recommend salt.  I chose not to add any salt because a) the seeds I bought already had some salt and I didn’t want to overdo it on sodium and b) I’m a proponent of replacing fats and salts with spices whenever possible.  Good and good for you!

I would also point out that the dry spice mix only “sticks” to the seeds so much.  I might toss the seeds with just a bit of olive oil first if I was really worried about it.  (I’m not.)

I am really enjoying popping them in my mouth five at a time, but I think they’d be great in salads and soups, too.  The paprika in the spice mix is what really makes the seeds reminiscent of Doritos.  As an added bonus, the spices coat your fingers just like Dorito powder…just less fluorescent-ly.

I still love Doritos, but they don’t provide the nutrients and energy that hemp seeds do.  And the fact that I can even compare Doritos with HEMP SEEDS really says something about how tasty these little guys are!

Are you Team Spiced Roasted Hemp Seeds or Team Doritos?  😉

One thought on “recipe! roasted hemp seeds > doritos?

Leave a Reply

